Vietnamese Coffee

As a Vietnamese American, I’ll admit I’ve lost touch with my roots over the years. Growing up as the youngest, my older siblings basically paved their way through most of the lessons for me. My parents signed all of us up for Vietnamese lessons at a young age but we also stopped attending at a young age. I also wasn’t able to use a pair of chopsticks until I was thirteen, and that was because I learned from a chopstick wrapper.

Very recently, I’ve been drinking coffee regularly. Though, I was blessed with a Keurig machine, I only know how to make peach or chai tea. We have a traditional Vietnamese coffee maker but I never learned how to use it correctly and would ask my mom to help me out almost every time. I’ve watched her many times to try and imitate her moves and no matter what, mine never turned out as rich and perfect as her’s. One day, she told me she wasn’t going to be around to make coffee for us every morning forever and we both got really emotional. But she taught me how to make coffee the way she does and now I make them for us every morning. I’ve always wanted to learn how to brew it correctly and now I feel like I’m, somewhat, keeping in touch with my Vietnamese heritage by doing so.

Making it is actually quite simple:

  1. Fill about a quarter of the coffee tool up with crushed coffee beans and place the tool on top of your favorite mug.
  2. Position the additional tool piece on top of the beans and press down until they’re completely compressed.
  3. Heat about a cup of water in the microwave for 30+ seconds and pour it inside the coffee tool.
  4. Once the water has fully dripped into the mug, (optional steps ahead) add 1-2 tablespoons of sugar.
  5. Stir the sugar-coffee mixture and pour an amount of creamer or condensed milk to your liking.
  6. Stir well, and enjoy your coffee.

I was totally shocked when I discovered how easy it is to make. Though I still have a lot to learn, I’m glad I was able to learn how to make traditional Vietnamese coffee for my mom and I to enjoy every morning. I hope you can enjoy it, too!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Vietnamese Coffee

  1. Katrine Eve says:

    Vietnamese coffee is THE BEST. I used to live near an amazing Pho place that had Vietnamese coffee and I had to have it at least once a week, it’s addicting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

